Intro

Just for fun, this a blog with posts of words of only five or fewer. Can it be done? Who knows? But I'll try and see how far I get. You may have to guess or work out what word isn't there, like five what? It's the thing words are made of, silly!

I think of it as a 5-a-day diet, only I eat words and not fruit and nuts. There is a novel of over 50,000 words that does not have one ‘e’ in the story – that's hard to do I think. But this is quite tough going. It’s like that game in the New York Times, where you get six tries to guess a word. You may get it first go, but thats pure luck. Often I use ADIEU as my first word as it has a high vowel count. Today I used ADOBE, which has three, and I got one in the right place, and one in the wrong. If I had used ADIEU to start, I would have had two in the wrong place and none in the right, so there is no hard and fast rule; it's up to you. In fact, I may use the word from each day in this blog or give a clue if it takes* too much effort.

With 5ive or Fewer, the bonus is that a child of eight can read it along with those who take the Sun and Daily Mail in the UK. But I'm not sure about those who live in the USA who vote for Trump. Will they LOL or laugh out loud? It's the same with older folk (like me!) who may not know what a blog is. By-the-bye, LOL is the last time I'll use text-speak. A dash – or two is okay if each word is five or under, like Wells-next-the-Sea and the like.

One more thing. What if not one soul reads this blog? All those words will have gone to waste. In the event I shall have to think about, won't I?

By the way, this is not my only blog. My main one is ‘Lost in Time and Space’. That's its title, not where it is. It’s not ready yet, but I'll let you know when it's good to go if you like.

Rob

* Five in the wrong place. Two days running! Not Bingo, but a full house.